codes for counties

There were 31 counties in Great Domesday if Rutland is accepted as a separate county, 3 in Little Domesday.

What were to become the counties of Cumberland, Westmorland, and north Lancashire were included in the Yorkshire folios, while south Lancashire was appended to Cheshire. In addition, there were separate sections for
Claims appended to Huntingdon, Lincoln and Yorkshire, and a kind of index to the Domesday account of Yorkshire known as the Yorkshire Summary. Finally, a late addition to the text for Yorkshire, made after 1113, details the fief granted then to Robert Brus, composed of manors which had belonged to other landowners in 1086.

These counties and special sections and their codes are set out below in the order of the Domesday folios, the blank lines indicating changes of circuit:

KEN: Kent
SUS: Sussex
SUR: Surrey
HAM: Hampshire
BRK: Berkshire

WIL:  Wiltshire
DOR: Dorset
SOM: Somerset
DEV:  Devon
CON: Cornwall

MDX: Middlesex
HRT: Hertfordshire
BUK: Buckinghamshire

OXF: Oxfordshire

GLS:  Gloucestershire
WOR: Worcestershire
HEF:  Herefordshire

CAM: Cambridgeshire

HUN:  Huntingdonshire
HC:    Huntingdonshire Claims

BDF:  Bedfordshire

NTH:  Northamptonshire
LEC:  Leicestershire
WAR: Warwickshire
STS:  Staffordshire

SHR: Shropshire
CHS: Cheshire

DBY: Derbyshire
NTT: Nottinghamshire
RUT: Rutland
YKS: Yorkshire
YB:   Yorkshire: Bruce fief
LIN:  Lincolnshire
YC:  Yorkshire Claims
LC:  Lincolnshire Claims
YS:  Yorkshire Summary

ESS: Essex
NFK: Norfolk
SUF: Suffolk

For the use of codes in searching the text, see properties and property searching.